How to bench properly?

I'm a little worried about the bench press. I'm a complete beginner, 0 sports during my childhood, yesterday I did a session with friends who have a much better level than me (one of them is a PT). It was an upper body session and we started with bench press. He made me try the empty bar, I did 10 repetitions. He loaded 10kg to see if I could lift them, I lifted the bar 10 times. He increased by 10kg again (so 40kg in total), and there I only did 2 reps, failure came, but fortunately I was not alone and he put the bar away. Then I tried again 30kg, I only did 2 reps, then 25kg where I did 6 or 7. In short, I'm totally burnt out, and for the rest of the session I wasn't even able to do the rest of the exercises entirely whatever was the weight I was trying.

This morning I came across a video of some who broke his arm while benching, and I'd like to know how it happened to him. I had never seen that before. Here the link of the video: youtube.com/watch?v=WpuAHadxYpw

More generally this exercise gives me anxiety, I'm a beginner and anticipating failure is not my strong point, I am not a medium and I wonder how I could become one even with experience, since there are too many external variables at play, including fatigue or motivation. How to approach this exercise serenely? Is the "roll of shame" technique easy to apply and still feasible? Do I have to overcome my shyness and ask the monsters at my gym their help?

Attached: pLaRi5jXSHDKu6WRydetBo-1200-80.jpg (1000x563, 45.96K)

Other urls found in this thread:

stronglifts.com/bench-press/
dropbox.com/sh/2g2b6nmdqydstpc/AAC7FehPOIKGT-l9l3Avnjf3a?dl=0&preview=Starting Strength, 3rd Edition-Rippetoe.pdf
twitter.com/NSFWRedditVideo

That's totally normal for your first time, you don't really have any muscle endurance so you will struggle doing a bunch of reps. I would recommend trying to do 25kg for 5 reps x 5 next time.