I'm a game developer. Been working on a passion project for about a decade...

I'm a game developer. Been working on a passion project for about a decade. Finally get to be a few months out from launch, working odd jobs just to get by, only to come to the realization that I'll likely lose everything I have before I even get there. The odd jobs aren't enough, all my actual career aspirations keep falling through, but rent is still due every month. Working like this isn't living. Can't do a Kickstarter because it violates agreements with third party technology licenses. So I have no choice but to struggle and suffer because a company we're partnered with is full of pricks.

Game is almost done, literally fully playable start to end, and I'll likely end up killing myself before it's even out. World just keeps getting worse every day and I can't see the light at the end of the tunnel anymore.

Attached: doomer.gif (498x441, 125.95K)

have you tried drinking lots of beer until you dont feel feelings anymore?

I'll buy it nigga

You fell for the game dev as a career meme. Game dev should be something you do as a hobby besides your boring programming job.
Also, are you soloing?

If you're almost done just sit in the pain soup for a bit. Sure it sucks, hurts real bad, makes you want to die. And that's okay feel all those feelings. Just don't act on them. Let your own nervous system take care if it and just embrace being in agony for a bit. It's not forever, not even likely that long, it will suck ass for sure some times it'll make you feel insane. But just sweat it out and when your game is done you'll get to rest on your laurels and it will have been worth it.

>whines about game
>doesnt show game

is it that bad?

Some beer. Lots of vodka and weed. Helps a bit.

Yeah I know it's a meme but it's all I've ever wanted to do. But as a game designer, finding a job in my role is difficult. Was soloing for 6 years until I formed a team.