Given modern programming languages and processors are smart enough to figure out the best way to do things efficiently...

Given modern programming languages and processors are smart enough to figure out the best way to do things efficiently, do you think is still necessary to learn algorithms for average coders?
I've been a coder for over 10 years and I've never think about quick sort/bubble sort, just use common sense and don't loop on double.max

Attached: 41SNoh5ZhOL._AC_SY580_.jpg (442x500, 22.84K)

Fucking idiot

I couldn't get imagemagick to make scan lines and along comes this guy and just tells me to do sin x+1 or something
I hate it, wtf do triangles have to do with scan lines? How?

Being a coder of 10 years you'd know that knowing by heart most of the algos presented in this book is practically useless because most of them have already been employed by pretty much any modern language either as syntax constructs or as ready to use types from their standard libraries.

That book is from early 90's ffs.

>modern programming languages and processors
Holy fucking retard. No. You show me how branch prediction and out of order execution (processors) and the asso2iated compiler optimations (programming languages) will always and sanely provide the best results given any computational problem.
Give me proofs or mathematical rigor. Do not link some rhetorical article you think is an authoritative source. Tell me, in your own words, why you think "modern programming languages and processors" provide sufficient facilities for such a broad-stroke claim about all of computer science.
Im willing to bet $100 you are making a baseless claim or you are a coder who fancies himself a programmer and sees no difference between the 2

>ready to use types as part of their standard libraries
tien, yes you would need to know what it is you are using

The things you've mentioned, I don't know any of them and still am making applications,