Career in CyberSec

Redpill me about a career in cybersecurity. I am a relatively fresh graduate with a cushy dev job but I've always been interested in cybersecurity and I've been doing some tryhackme/hackthebox stuff as a hobby. I'm thinking about pursuing it more seriously and maybe getting some certs, but I'm unsure.

Attached: asdf.jpg (299x168, 9.27K)

Other urls found in this thread:

soundcloud.com/ytcracker/ytcracker-robots-will-definitely-take-your-job
ginandjuice.shop/
juice-shop.herokuapp.com/
vulnhub.com/entry/owasp-broken-web-applications-project-12,46/
twitter.com/NSFWRedditVideo

The cybersecurity companies I've encountered at work mostly just run automated tools and send out an unedited report including things that aren't really issues for various reasons but I still have to fix or devise workarounds to hide them "to make the client happy".
I see it as mostly a scam industry. I think the best experts are out there claiming bug bounties not working for some company.

id say you're better at where you're at but if you have extra time it wouldn't hurt for you to learn stuff to put on your resume

Just an example, it'll flag outdated software versions on servers running Redhat which backports security fixes so the CVEs it claims are vulnerable it really isn't.
In reality it's running the latest version available from the vendor so it shouldn't be my problem, but people try to pretend like it is, or it's my job to fix it (I'm a developer not a sysadmin).

bug bounties sound sort of interesting, what's the money like there?

for anyone else curious, apparently it pays absolute dogshit. we're talking like $250 for most bugs.

For big companies they usually have a policy depending on how major the security threat is, some are paying 10k+ for significant findings.

your job is going to be replaced by a computer and already has been for the most part
soundcloud.com/ytcracker/ytcracker-robots-will-definitely-take-your-job

are you a comp sci major

yes