I'm 30yo and would like to learn bass by myself.Is it too late for me? Do you need some "music talent"?

I'm 30yo and would like to learn bass by myself.Is it too late for me? Do you need some "music talent"?

Attached: fender-american-professional-ii-p-bass-mn-3tsb.jpg (1920x1920, 224.15K)

go for it, bass playing is easy. you can youube yourself to pro if you got just a little bit of talent

Nope. I played drums from the age of 9 to 18. I had to stop because I joined the Marines, and picked drums back up at like 26. I decided to go on youtube and look up some guitar tracks to drum to, but was all generic bullshit. So I decided I would teach myself guitar and just record my own riffs to play to.

I've been playing guitar now for like 3 years, and what I will tell you is, for the first year or so, you will quit a couple times for like a week, then come back to it if you really love it. You will have times of extreme frustration. You will have times that you question why you even started.

When it comes to theory, it will take quite a while before anything even starts making sense, unless you are just one of those people that just clicks with you. You wont really know a direction to go or what to practice or when and how. You will have to figure all that out the hard way like I did.

So this is why I suggest shopping around for a good teacher. Someone you vibe with. Someone you connect with that can make learning fun. That is fucking hard to find unfortunately.

Learning on your own is very hard and confusing, but a teacher can atleast point you in the right direction until you get to the point where you can teach yourself. Self education is important and can be fun in that aspect.

Just dont completely give up no matter how frustrated you get. Just have fun my man :)

Also I should add, I am a right handed person, but I play left handed guitars left handed. The right hand is my fretting hand and the left is my picking hand.