Why Did VB6 Fail To Replace C++ In The 90s?

At a time when GUI design was a pain in the behind, why did VB6 fail to end C++ even though it made development of apps a breeze with its GUI designer, compared to the slow time developing an app in C++ without one?

Attached: integration-vb-6-form.gif (668x534, 36.8K)

Code monkeys are replaceable. They KNOW they're replaceable. There was no way that they were going to let programming be placed back into the hands of Joe Blow like it was in the 1980s. So a hard disinformation campaign of maligning VB (and to a lesser extent, Delphi) was rapidly run to gatekeep.

Who is Joe Blow? And what was it like in the 1980s?

They didn't want to making programming too easy.

I just started learning C++a few weeks ago and am a complete newb. Although I really enjoy it, it will probably always be just a hobby because I could never visualize a career in programming or coding.

each simple thing you learn will become a habit the more and more you use it
game dev is a big meme but maybe its a good idea for someone starting to get down the idea of knowing how to write and interperet dense code and troubleshoot it

C developers had a bet, either make it fail or shave their beards

Things used to be so simple back then. And GUI was consistent, no fat touch buttons and ugly flat design.

You will never truly understand C++, ignore anyone who tells you otherwise.

Attached: dickspizza.png (700x654, 464.95K)

>slower
>shittier
Guess. It's still a reasonable beginner language though.

I think he meant Jonathon Blow.

Attached: 1625587049772.jpg (540x690, 197.64K)

a placeholder name for average computer user; all computers would let you program whatever in basic which was slow but easy to learn and done the job well enough for most people

this might be the single most important thing I've read about programming

oh my god i remember this in school, and then the windows 7 version or whatever in highschool. it was so good