/Video Encoding/

I've been reencoding some videos with Handbrake to save space. Playing around with different video and audio codec settings to get the best balance of quality, file size, and encode time. I'm new to this though, lots to learn.
For these X-Files episodes, I used:
>x265
>crf=24
>medium encode speed
>denoise filter: light, film
>audio: 80kbps AAC
File the file size to ~26%, saving 50.6 GB of disk space. This bottom scene with the chainlink fence and tall grass shows the biggest difference.
I think I should have used Opus 64kbps for the audio, seeing as the some of these source files have

Attached: 1626277115944.jpg (2467x3401, 2.08M)

Other urls found in this thread:

x265.readthedocs.io/en/stable/presets.html)
twitter.com/NSFWRedditImage

>accepting anything other than a remux
why would you ever do this

What would be the point of that?

you're damaging the quality of your own files
just go buy a big hard drive, with the prevalence of streaming everything is bitstarved enough already

The source is shit quality and bloated to begin with. It's 90's tv shows, it was kino at 240p played back on CRT televisions from VHS recordings. I just want the most compact file size possible seeing as I might only rewatch a couple episodes a year. There are films that warrant high quality and large file sizes, this doesn't fall into that category.

Right looks like shit. I'm sure you can save some space without making the entire thing look like a blurry mess.

Do the source files look that much better to justify 4x the disk space?
What encoder settings would you suggest?
Saving space is the primary goal, I'm willing to compromise on quality, but want to find the best balance. I'm not archiving BBC Planet Earth documentaries where visual fidelity is crucial, it's a fucking 1990's television drama that was perfectly enjoyable at VHS quality.

You've crushed all the detail out of the image with the file set on the right. Pack up your things, you're fired.

>crf=24