Alright Any Forums, redpill me on the cyber security job meme. Is it really the best paid...

Alright Any Forums, redpill me on the cyber security job meme. Is it really the best paid, most fun and most sought after in the market now?

Attached: 0_b6VuVy2aZOvHfm-C.png (764x504, 44.01K)

I bump your thread in hopes of raising discussion

Attached: knight.jpg (900x740, 93.71K)

Ruined by NPC normalfags and the white hat equivalent of script kiddies.

I unironically make 220k as a security engineer at a non faang. I'll be nice on this board for once and answer questions to help out you newfags.

Did you join with a compsci degree? Most cybersec places seem happy to take most STEM degrees so I'm not sure if it matters too much what you studied at uni.

>Degree
No, I have a liberal arts degree. I worked my way up from the help desk to network engineering then pivoted into security. I didn't earn my degree until I was 6-7 years into my career. I took a bunch of classes online part time while working. Only 1 person on my team has a computer science degree

I have my Security+ but Im a retard and dont know anything. Should I apply for work as a SOC analyst?

What the hell is a "security engineer" anyway? Pentesting?

If you have a security+ and you're an American, try to find a government cyber job instead on USAJOBS.com. you'll get paid more starting at a gov position (which are gs12 for entry level) then you would in the private sector. Try to avoid the soc if you can, it's no better than help desk

>I'll be nice on this board
Where were you when /cyb/ + /sec/ was killed?

I do corporate security work, with a heavy focus on cloud security. The defense side pays more than the offensive side on average because there is a massive talent shortage.

Sure Ill give that a shot. Im currently tech support for an ISP.

I used to make a fair amount of the cyb sec threads but the jannies banned me for multiple months last summer so I stopped making them