How the fuck do you get a job in CS?

I know a fair amount of C++ and OOP, how do I get an entry level job in the field ? I don't have a degree but I'm a student

Attached: f15-2.jpg (2048x1365, 470.24K)

Other urls found in this thread:

youtube.com/watch?v=UA7Kyktuk38&t
twitter.com/NSFWRedditImage

degree + an internship

I thought many got work without one? I also attend a shitty uni so that might not help

bump

You can't really work in CS without a PhD.

just apply to a thousand jobs and you'll get one
youtube.com/watch?v=UA7Kyktuk38&t

but .. what about there being a lack of software engineers?

Computer science and software engineering are completely different fields.

To work in computer science you have to be an actual scientist, but good news, to work in software engineering you don't even have to be an engineer.

Git gud

I mean programming, most people here can't even code fizzbuzz and they say they do 'CS'

Talent stacking. Did some CS, now studying EE and have brushed against some general engineering and other topics, and got a decent job that fits the CS/EE combination, despite no degree and only crappy webdev job experience. Being able to understand the product at multiple levels is a definite asset for potential employers.

As I said, you don't need a formal education, but the problem is that nobody wants to hire anyone without work experience in the field. So what you need to do is to find someone sufficiently desperate.

Here's what I did: Network and try to find a pre-seed startup that needs a code monkey for an MVP. The startup will probably fail, and if you're paid in equity you'll get nothing for your work. But at least you'll have worked an actual job. Use this to apply for a junior role somewhere. Then work your way up.