I might give freeBSD as a desktop os a try, what am I in for?

I might give freeBSD as a desktop os a try, what am I in for?

Attached: 1647910993701.png (325x262, 30.87K)

Other urls found in this thread:

youtube.com/watch?v=2oLuJSFZKEs
madaidans-insecurities.github.io/openbsd.html
twitter.com/SFWRedditImages

Imagine Linux, but with even less compatibility.

Linux with much fewer apps.

youtube.com/watch?v=2oLuJSFZKEs

Thanks I watched this. I'm going to try it when I get home from work. Something new and different and if I don't like it, I'll always go back to Linux.

I don’t know I’ve been using openBSD for like five years now. u’ll Probably enjoy it

bsd today is what linux was 15 years ago

Is open better than free? What's the best edition?

I have followed the the OpenBSD project for some years and listen to the developers speak etc. etc. I’m not as familiar with FreeBSD. Maybe do some reading on the two projects. They both have an interesting history. Depending on what you expect or what you were interested in doing with your computer, you may choose one over the other.

Attached: AA0F1679-9B54-4B2F-9C31-BCD718A79449.jpg (324x286, 20.57K)

It's the mainframe. you will rent access to it
you will not store files on your computer
you wont delete any files
you will watch and use what is available
and you will be happy

Attached: mainframewopr.jpg (600x338, 19.74K)

Open:
>0 security, but you can pretend otherwise by screaming about how much if you believe it, it must be real
>shit hardware support
>slow as balls because muh security (cope, actually has no security: it's because of incompetence)
>cope, seethe and dial 8 everytime someone posts madaidans-insecurities.github.io/openbsd.html or other compendiums of proofs openplacebo security is nonexistent
Free:
>barely any security, better than open at least
>good hardware support
>far more software support
>very fast
Net:
>better security than both, still worse than linux
>Best hardware support