Will open-source take over all paid software?

Developers on Any Forums, seeking your opinions on the topic.

P.S. I am an author of open-source alternative to auth0(used for implementing user authentication in apps)

github.com/supertokens/supertokens-core

Attached: Screenshot_20220322-095344~2.png (720x1155, 119.92K)

Other urls found in this thread:

cve.mitre.org/cgi-bin/cvekey.cgi?keyword=Java
cvedetails.com/vulnerability-list/vendor_id-93/product_id-19117/Oracle-JRE.html
twitter.com/SFWRedditImages

yes

no

Just looked through it, the code seems very unsecure. Leaves lots of room for vulnerabilities the way its set up.

> Why Java?

Post hands. If they're brown, then no.

>Java + Docker + authentication
ah personal hell, nice to see you again

Clearly it should be written in C, like all secure software

Attached: buffer overflow.png (511x380, 118.09K)

>contributor covenant

Attached: le trash man.jpg (352x450, 37.04K)

brown hands confirmed. have fun dealing with log4j

cope harder.
cve.mitre.org/cgi-bin/cvekey.cgi?keyword=Java
cvedetails.com/vulnerability-list/vendor_id-93/product_id-19117/Oracle-JRE.html

The only way FOSS will fully overtake proprietary software is through the overthrow of capitalism. As long as the profit model exists, there will always be the temptation to close the software.

>muh buffer overflow
dumb nigger

Insecurity is built into C by design, just like its built into you by your parents.

jej

Attached: bulbjak.jpg (1170x879, 73.79K)

>like all secure software
Short answer is yes, it should.
Longer answer is that there are many important, secure, open source libraries wirten in C. I personally would prefer some language that's not controlled by a predatory corporation. As it is I won't touch supertokens-core with a 10 foot poll.

Best xml parsers, best http libraries, best TLS libraries, best password stores, best envryption algorithms are all written and maintained by C programmers.