Thoughts on chromebooks? I'm thinking of buying the cheapest chromebook I can find

Thoughts on chromebooks? I'm thinking of buying the cheapest chromebook I can find.

Attached: chromebook.jpg (2048x1365, 260.14K)

Why would you buy that.

only if you want a crappy paperweight

The UX is just perfect. The UI is dogshit material crap god I hate that style so much. I'm not a boomer but when even Microsoft can come up with Fluent and you still stick with that dogshit something is terribly wrong

I bought one and put arch on it. Works good.

what for ?
its just a huge android tablet with a keyboard

How poor are you that you have to "consider" before making a $200 purchase? Tell you what, I'll buy one right now just to throw into the garbage.

This so much. Flatshit is dying. I put up with the slowness of windows 11 just because the ui is that much better.

I've owned a few. Both arm and x86. They're utterly useless.

I've been considering for 2 months or something which computer to buy. I can afford an imac or whatever. But I'm tired of phoneposting and tired of considering so I might just get the cheapest computer I can find which is probably a chromebook.

You do realise its just an elaborate web browser? You can't use it like a normal pc

get a used thinkpad

Ok but I mostly use the browser anyway. I use paint and notepad sometimes.

Get one then. Works well for you. A computer is a tool and this one will fit your needs. No reason to spend more money or get a Thinkpad or whatever.
You can use website replacements for paint and notepad, and you can also install a native suite of apps from the web store. You can also download Android and Linux applications.

i've been using an Acer C720 for 6 1/2 years.

It is the best single device. I've ever owned. Just make sure to install your *nux. chromeos is trash.