/VEP/ - Video Editing & Production

Well, some user told me to make my own general with blackjack & hookers, since the topic/thread didn't exist.

So I did.

VEP is (hopefully) all about sharing, teaching, critiquing, and assisting anons in video editing. Anything from Movie Maker (lmao) to Adobe to VEGAS and beyond.

Me personally? I'm still learning and self teaching. I use VEGAS 19 and have VEGAS 15 and 14.
And at the present moment, I'm trying to find if and/or where I can acquire new transition effects for my editing purposes.

Attached: VEP thumbnail.png (1870x292, 62.76K)

you'll be better off on a slow board

Fair enough. Made the thread cause like 2 anons in another general suggested I should when I mentioned my displeasure at the lack of an editing general.
I'll give that thread a go n see (i thought about checking photography but assumed nothing video related would be in a board dedicated to pictures. My mistake in that regard I suppose)

Is this the youtuber video game analysis general?

I edit all my videos in Blender.

I tried to learn Blender editing back in the late 00s or early 10s. I really tried.
I just couldn't be fucked.
You have my respect.

I also tried lightworks and a handful of other ones. Lightworks I feel like I remember it being an absolute headache.

What are the honest differences between "Defocus" and "Gaussian Blur", if any? I assume that separation of blur types is not unique to VEGAS.
Is it how it applies or processes the blur?

>You have my respect
Nah it's just that I only need the most basic features.
If I needed anything fancy I would use Premiere (which is what I used in the past).

>Nah it's just that I only need the most basic features.
That's fair.

I used to want to learn premiere and the whole adobe suite, but I despise subscriptions as an exclusive ownership model. Its fine for trial runs or for students at discount prices, but not being able to fork over X fat stack for a permanent version irks me.