PowerShell

Is it worth learning for the average user?

I use winget and a script that I barely have to use to install and uninstall certain programs on clean installs.

Attached: cursos-online-powershell.png (1000x544, 74.85K)

PowerShell like all Microsoft products was designed (perhaps unintentionally) to waste the maximum amount of the user's time.

I've been looking for a good resource for learning PS during downtime at work (I work plastics, not IT). Any suggestions?

Lol probably a video? Lets stop pretending this is rocket science, its just a fucking terminal user learn the commands then go from there should take max a week if not less

>Is it worth learning for the average user?
no

I used to think so when I worked as a sysadmin managing hundreds of windows machines. It's useful for win specific tasks, but for general scripting and automation there's like 5 other languages I'd use first

HolyC is PowerShell but good. Learn that instead.

Everyone who replied so far has evidently never used it.
Simply put it's not worth learning for the "average" user, but neither is any shell.
If you're someone who is:
a. comfortable in a terminal
b. familiar with shells in general
c. frequently working on Windows
Then yes I'd say powershell is worth learning.
t. Has used PowerShell as primary shell for 2 years now

i use powershell for exchange and AD related stuff. for a windows sysadmin it's essential.

Just for a taste, how would you do something like this in Powershell?
for x in ls ./*.txt
do
cp "$x"{,.bak}
done

PowerShell for Sysadmin if you want a good, quick primer and real examples

PowerShell in a Month of Lunches if you want to be really god at it

PowerShell Master Class on YT is another great resource.

>He doesn't know what an object is
Oof.