I've never programmed before, should I learn it through SICP?

I've never programmed before, should I learn it through SICP?

Attached: images - 2022-02-01T020651.056.jpg (461x665, 47.57K)

Other urls found in this thread:

lobste.rs/s/sp9khl/how_recommend_books_stop_recommending#c_zobn8p
twitter.com/SFWRedditGifs

Nah go learn python or C or better yet ask yourself why you want to learn this shit and if you dont have a valid reason stop wasting your time. If you dont have an use for this shit you will forget about it in a week.

No shits outdated as hell. Read that for fun after you’ve learned some programming and computer science

Yes do it. I read it recently its fucking awesome

If it’s just for fun, then knock your socks off.

vouch
It's good for reinforcing existing knowledge, but given how outdated Lisp is and how the industry has evolved when it was written, the knowledge isn't necessary to know as a beginner in 2021. The creator of SICP admits himself that programming has fundamentally changed since it was written (for best or for worst). I'd recommend learning python first as it's beginner friendly.

For the millionth time, SICP is a hilariously outdated universityfaggot piece of shit. It was outdated in the mid 90s. Universities preach this shitty book because it's an easy automated way to make you take 4 years worth of credits to learn the stupid way instead of a few months. You'll only figure that out in your first interview and it will be far too late. Nobody in the history of time has ever finished SICP, it's the ultimate piece of shit book where you re-read the first couple chapters, forget about it, and repeat the process next year.

shut the fuck up, nigger

What universities are preaching SICP? And where are you getting 4 years from?
You don't need to go to a university to get the lectures or the book, they're free and online. And it should not take you 4 years to complete.