Should be simple, right?

I work for a small manufacturer that runs/owns a large machine which is getting old. There are 4 crews, and a variety of issues happen during different shifts, and what happened when is currently recorded in a notebook. Obviously this is a piss poor way to record machine activity, and keep track of historical data.

I am trying to create a very simple table in which the date/time/author/activity for each shift can be recorded. I did some html and JS in high-school and college, but it's been quite some time, and I've never done a project like this before.

Basically, I want this table to have four columns, and want a button that allows the addition of a row to the TOP of the table, and entry fields for each of the 4 columns. I do not want the option for the row to be edited, simply added.

I am not asking for anyone's help, this is not my homework. I am simply asking for someone to point me in the direction of some literature, website, knowledge source, or even verbiage for what specifically I am trying to build. I dont know if it's called a "table" or a "database" or what.

Any knowledge you guys might have would be greatly appreciated.

Attached: MAR.png (1919x953, 95.36K)

im not a webfag but cant you just use a bunch of premade tables and shit from something like bootstrap?

>I dont know if it's called a "table" or a "database" or what.

OP is hopeless, there's no chance you get this solved in under 3 months

is there really a reason to create something like this from scratch? surely something like this is already out there?

I didn't give a projected completion date, if it takes 3 months, so be it. This isnt an assigment through my workplace, it's a person project to present to management once complete.

My previous employer had one, and I literally cannot believe that I have to read machine activity out of a spiral notebook, written in chicken scratch by a variety of people. Its not productive.