Was it worth it?

As I sit here alone playing video games all night to get on a night schedule for work, I've taken time to reflect on how many hours of video games I played in my life time. Thousands. Thousands of hours I've wasted, mostly playing by myself. Somehow, I've managed to keep the drive going to finish medical school and start a family with a wife who doesn't play video games. I have been a fucking doctor for a few years now, generally scoring in the top 10 percent on exams and I still look back on all the hours I've wasted that could have resulted in me having a business a degree, a masters degree, millions of dollars, or just be a better doctor. It's actually saddening when I think about how much time I continue to waste on videos games. There's no real sense of accomplishment. I do things in games because I tell myself I have to, but there's ultimately nothing truly worthwhile. So I am now sitting here wondering if it was all worth it. Was it a necessity to get to where I am today? Did it keep me sane? Did it keep me from being depressed?

How do you cope with wasting such a huge portion of your life?

Attached: 4535662434252523.jpg (700x500, 128.19K)

i ain't reading all that

>i ain't reading all that

>How do you cope with wasting such a huge portion of your life on video games?

sounds like a you problem honestly, i don't feel like i wasted time

>wasting
If you had fun then it's not a waste. If you're not having fun then quit, or play something else.

it’s not that that deep man, it’s media.

Whether you’re actively realizing it or not media influences the way you think, and gives you dopamine. Odds are you actually WOULDN’T be where you are without games since you obviously used them as your media of choice to de-stress in your off time, and believe in having a career and wife. Stories about bonds, human relations, heroics, victory, as a human you pick the pieces you like from media and mold them into your own ideals.