Devil May Cry

Apart from the ill-liked DmC reboot, I'm a complete noob to the franchise and want to play 5. Should I play 3 and 4 prior? Is 1 worth playing at this point or should I come back to it after 3, 4, 5?

Attached: XbWAdmgH733ubAtOtlzedbqi1E7DgFZZ.png (1024x1024, 275.3K)

Play them in release order. Witnessing and adapting to the evolution in gameplay will only make you appreciate the series even more. The HD collection is good.

3 and 5 are fun but 1 is the only good one. Avoid 4, and 2 is fine to play if you want a bad ps2 action game.

play 1 and 3 at least once

Is there any way or place to obtain the original 2001 version of the first game for pc?

Any mods I should be using for the HD Collection? I downloaded DDMK but frankly haven't looked at the features

Other than emulating the ps2 version, I think the HD collection is your only choice

But didn't it come out for PC originally as well?

No, not for your first playtrough at least.

>I'm a complete noob to the franchise and want to play 5
Skip 5, you'll miss absolutely nothing. Stick to 1, 2, and 3, and DmC, avoid everything else.

Attached: 1603743829425.jpg (1808x2348, 1.61M)

Only 3, 4, DmC and 5 have original PC ports, and 3 on PC lacks native xinput support.

>602460052
why even make a post like this

Convince me to not play 2 out of curiosity.

Because it's correct.

Attached: NoWayFag.png (1084x755, 529.59K)

just because one game isn't to your liking doesn't mean it deserves to be missed

it's super short and pretty easy
it's pretty good cringekino
the gameplay is just as good as DMC 1 (except for Lucia, she's trash)
play it

Thanks user.

Assuming you're also the same fella who answered my original question, know that I sincerely appreciate it.
I like you almost as much as Jackie Chan.

Play all of them, including the reboot. You don't have to finish 2, just get a taste of it to find out why people hate it so much