Linux Gaymin

will it ever be viable

Attached: yrfnEy7IjP.png (429x428, 143.53K)

proton will only get better, steam deck will make developers want to target it too, valve is not only saving PC gaming but it's saving technology by killing a monopoly

If steam dwarf fortress is compatible I'd switch to it.

idk, I've been playing every major AAA title and indie for the past 4 years or so on Linux. Elden Ring had a hiccup with anticheat day 1 but now it runs better than Windows thanks to stutter fixes patched in by the Linux community. Apex Legends also works now. Haven't played it but thats a major anticheat game

Not really, becouse people who game on PC also do other things with their PCs that isnt Linux friendly ie most will give up on a task if it takes more then 5 secs

It already is. If you can't use Linux then you should stick to consoles. Windows is deprecated. Very soon the only notable games not playable on Linux will be the ones in which Microsoft pays developers to include some Proton-breaking butthurt.dll or ban Linux users manually.

Depends on your definition of "viable". If it means 100% compatibility with every Windows game ever, then no.
Otherwise, it already is somewhat viable, and constantly getting better.

>tarkov
>hell let loose
>can't use gpu passthrough without a second shit gpu in my computer
i am stuck in this shit OS

Attached: J1f9pQgTOM.png (199x210, 59.06K)

if you're afraid to get your feet wet in the terminal don't bother just use windows 10 ltsc you can disable the shilling, there's less bloat and you can disable forced updates
>will linux gayming be viable
I do think so but I'd be much happier if video game devs provided executables that run natively on linux without depending on wine and used vulkan

Not as viable as windows but more viable for gaming than mac.