Helpdesk Wagie Here

I'm working for Microsoft as a support agent for almost one year now, I live in third world and my salary is 50% bigger than the average income in the capital city, I live good but nothing fancy.

I have no degree, no past experience in the IT industry and I'm not even particularly passionate by this domain but it pays the bills so why not.

I have an offer to be a junior system administrator for the same salary that Microsoft offer me but there are some differences:

1) the shift, I'm now working from 5pm to 1am and the new job would be 9am to 5pm
2) the location, I'm now WFH and the sysadmin job would be in office (so money lost commuting everyday)

What do you think I should do? I'm very comfy in this WFH job but after one year I'm already tired of setting DNS, doing mailbox migrations and solving Outlook issues - I want to step up

Should I take this job offer with the goal to land a better job after 1 or 2 years? My goal is to, one day, become a devops engineer (yes I'm dreaming) so I was thinking that the sysadmin job would be a step forward compared to helpdesk..

What do you think about that please?

Thank you sir, good day sir.

Attached: help-desk-header.jpg (2000x862, 144.01K)

Good morning .

tell us stories of people being rude to you

I'd say stick with MS and see if there's any benefits that offer training and then try to level up your skills. Then try to jump up a role or move elsewhere, but at least you'll be taking a big leap forward and be able to demand more on YOUR terms.

Most of people are nice desu

This call center is a crab bucket, I have coworkers doing the same job for 10 years now and they are still support agent, not even SME or Team Leader

Honestly if you'd make significantly more capital do it for six months or a year just for resume purposes and jump ship to something better. But if it's like a 10-20 percent increase max not sure I'd do it

Do you have to do more needful or less?

0% increase

I'm not indian