Short Term Capital Gains Tax

Do I have to pay short term capital gains if I have less money than I originally started with? Turns out I'm really bad at swing trading...

Attached: 1614906017486.png (600x600, 183.08K)

report it as a capital loss then
??

>Do I have to pay taxes on gains that don't exist?
Do you see where you went wrong?

no, it's plus minus zero until you are under water then you don't pay anything because you didn't make any profits

and no, the system wont pay YOU in the situation

This is my first time filing taxes because I've been a NEET since I've graduated college. Do I get gibs for reporting a capital loss?

You can write off like 3500 of capital losses against earned in come per year (earned income = your job). So lets say you lost 35000, you have 10 years of write offs against earned income, or 35000 of write offs in a year if you have massive short term gain taxes.

No, you could first use those losses to offset any capital gains that took place within the same calendar year.
Then you could use up to $3000 to offset taxes owed on any ordinary sources of income like paychecks from a job.
Then the remaining balance of your losses are carried over year by year where they can be used up to $3k/year to offset ordinary sources of income.

If in profit
Total profit - Total losses = net profit - taxes (you are taxed on net profit if you are daytrading meaning wash sales are fine as they only care about net. Usually you'll just add this to your average cost.)

If in losses just report as losses and deduct it from your income. However if you're reporting losses against your income you can't have wash sales.

Basically you're fine it you kept more than half your total gains if day trading. If not you'll have to pray.

If at a loss you can write off 3k against income unless it's a wash sale. If you're in Canada it's a bit shittier but still fine if you're in profit.

Great, thanks bros.