I've been an indie game dev for over 15 years

I used to wonder why and how there were so many super successful indies that just seemed to come out of nowhere with games that left me scratching my head as to what made them so great. Games that won awards at indie game shows, shows that were later revealed to have a lot of nepotism going on. These guys were seen as the rock stars of the indie world, and got to speak at tons of events, most of them apparently got a lot of wealth from their games, even though I have a hard time actually meeting anyone outside of the indie sphere that's played or even heard of their work.

I used to wonder why these guys had so much luck when it came to this stuff. My speculations ranged from the simple "they must know and be good friends with the people running this event" to "maybe their parents have money and paid off the judges?" All of that is more than likely, but then I realized something else about these guys. Something I probably wouldn't have noticed until Any Forums fine-tuned my radar for this particular "species" of person. Do you see it Any Forums? Do you see what they all have in common?

It all makes so much sense now... Their smug sense of superiority, their careful selection of who succeeded and who didn't, how they snubbed the unworthy and fucked over their non-clique colleagues. I have a friend who worked with one of these guys and I know firsthand how badly he got the shaft; on a game that went on to sell millions he only saw a few thousand even though he worked with them on it. I wonder if he even knows what kind of people he was dealing with?