Is it right to do terrible things for the right reasons?

In March 2006 I began working at a national laboratory in the western United States. I have been doing that for almost 20 years, and over that time I have performed some horrible acts. You know, we would say that things were a bit out of the ordinary.

I have come to question if my actions are right or if it was right for me to commit those acts and for me to believe that it was right.

I am curious what other people's views are. If the work that I did was ethical. If my colleagues acted in a decent manner. Do I have to feel guilty for doing those things? I know the answer but I want to know what other people believe.

Attached: 6497D3FC-FD81-4482-BCE4-5E2CE4A6694C.jpg (1000x708, 143.27K)

What are the right reasons for you? A paycheck?

People do not think about what they want from their work, and more about what they want from their life. Work is for the paycheck and a means of self-satisfaction.

there is no right reason to commit terribpe acts.
you know this.

We were told that we were working to enhance our national security. But after many years of doing our job, I no longer believe that. I think we do the wrong things because we are afraid. That’s the reason we fight wars. When we start to have to ask ourselves, “Am I afraid?” and we find out, “Yes, I am,” then the question is: Do we need to be scared to do the right things?

What the hell were you doing, creating weaponized viruses?

Maybe I have misconstrued my question. What they were suggesting is that it was morally right to do horrible things in the name of the national security. And so we're talking about the moral justification of the act, which for us was justified on the grounds of national security. It was a very important, well-respected act.

>Implying it's for the right reasons

LOL