Any anons here play chess

Fuck this gay nothing burger war. What is the most efficient way for a total beginner to get good at chess? Puzzles, books or just play a lot?

Attached: download (2).jpg (278x181, 10.01K)

Other urls found in this thread:

lichess.org/practice
twitter.com/SFWRedditImages

play a lot, throw in puzzles and simple lessons here and there

ive gone from 400 to 850~ online rating in a few months playing casually

check out chessbrah youtube vids on chess fundamentals they make it fun and go through a bunch of games with the same plan

Find a club and play in person. I focus much harder when I have a live person on the other side of the board

i hit 1600 or so from 400, struggled to improve after that

learn endgame positions well, so well you can recite them verbally. go through all the opening positions and find some you like and do extended variations. find out an opening youre familiar with and is fun, and try not to blunder as one blunder loses the game

only ugly incels play chess

Attached: botez.jpg (1280x720, 61.54K)

lichess.org/practice
Been told this site is good, I tried it a little but I don't really enjoy chess, I just learned the basics to play with my sister who had gained an interest (which she lost after I beat her three times in a row).

I’m rated 600 blitz on chess.com, I guess you could say I’m pretty good

What a boorish cad you are.

the game is alot of memorizing sets of moves that are optimal, and not very creative. alot of AI thrown into the game kind of takes the fun away, but its still enjoyable

i beat an IM a few occasions, but the true great geniuses that can consistently play at that level put most of their life into learning the game. its a serious discipline. you have to anaylze and play alot of games

fuck off shill im chad

lichess is good

I'll say you're pretty Canuck.