WWIII is coming, take the HAM pill

why haven't you gotten your HAM radio license yet, anons?
>emergency comms
>control your own infrastructure
>not censorable by ZOG
>frequencies are technically regulated but you don't need a license to listen/gather intel

the FCC already nuked GMRS communications on Chinese radios in 2021. knowing how to work a base station/repeater may be the only way to stay informed in the hard times to come.

73s, faggots.

Attached: hamradio.jpg (1200x630, 72.09K)

Other urls found in this thread:

chirp.danplanet.com/projects/chirp/wiki/Home
twitter.com/NSFWRedditVideo

nice rig. i enjoy my icom 7300.

Why bother with a license? Fuck that shit.

What would one need to spend for something decent? I'm getting myself a small portable one just to listen next month but it would be nice to have something fancy like that at home. I'm a noob tho

rockin' the kenwood ts-2000 over here

you should really learn the differences between UHF, VHF and HF before you settle on a choice
If you're convinced you want to start on UHF/VHF, I'd at least get one with 6m band.
Otherwise, you can't go wrong with Yaesu and Kenwood. I've heard good and bad things about Icom, but I've never owned one, so I don't wanna speak for it.

Not interested in ham per se, but i am interested in SDR.
Any recommendations?
Im after something that has a wide range so i can do all sorts of dumb shit in my spare time.
Satellites seem like an ok challenge to me.
All the ones i look at have pros and cons.

Attached: airspy_board_right.png (353x280, 170.5K)

ICOMs are great. Prefer Yaesu myself but even the ChiCom shit is pretty damn good these days.
For practice, user. Nothing more. Nobody will care about your licensure status when happenings overwhelm North America.
You can get a solid VHF/UHF rig as a base station for under $100. I'd recommend a KT-8900D or an AnyTone-AT-778UV. The latter is my favorite as it's cheaper and has access to more transmit frequencies.