Is gatekeeping a good idea?

Or is it just a pointless endeavor? I know no one likes it when normies join their niche fandom, but some people can get a little cared away with gatekeeping at times. Your thoughts?

Attached: Anime normies.jpg (690x552, 207.52K)

>Your thoughts?
I think you need to leave.

You already failed because you are one of those "normies"

Fuck off.

Gatekeeping=console war

You seem to be under the impression that if people gatekeep it actually accomplishes something. Bitching about normies enjoying a show wrong doesn't actually keep them away, you're just wasting your own time and getting mad about people who don't care that you're mad.

Nothing wrong with it but there's no way to effectively do it, specially online

You know nothing about my anime watching habits

I know you're a cunt.

Gatekeeping (within reason) is extremely necessary to preserve your hobby against the influence of the unenlightened mob. I am fairly new to anime and I certainly don't seek to impose my unrefined opinions on the medium that I chose to adopt specifically to escape from the pitfalls of my previous entertainment. If I say something retarded, I WANT a person with more experience in the matter to explain why I'm being retarded. If you don't gatekeep, then newfags are going to eventually ruin your hobby.
What I am against is exclusion. I am genuinely trying to get more into anime, if someone were to say that i'm not allowed to participate because I haven't been into it since I was a child or whatever, then yeah that's gay.

Gatekeeping is the immune system of a hobby. Without it a hobby is quickly overrun with cancer leaving a deformed corpse of the hobby.

The fact that you're here is proof that gatekeeping doesn't work

Lurk 2 years before posting.

>You seem to be under the impression that if people gatekeep it actually accomplishes something