What's the point of creating a fanfiction and completely changing the setting, themes and characterization...

What's the point of creating a fanfiction and completely changing the setting, themes and characterization? Why not just make your own IP?

Attached: fanfiction(1).png (1000x1000, 354.36K)

Fun

To piggyback off of the popularity

It's a fun creative exercise and a way to develop writing skills.

I want to play with my childhood toys, simple as

For Fans? Just content for the fanbase ranging from shitposts to good.

For novice writers? Practice.

Like try to write a story that gets the tone of the show right, and have the characters act like what they are from the origin medium. Just a training wheels sort of thing. Once you're comfortable you create your own IP.

As a fanfic writer I've always had a rule: "You have to play by the rules of the universe." As OP says, there's no point in writing a fanfic and not following the preexisting setting, characterizations, and themes. I am also a writer of original fiction, and if I want to do my own thing, I'll just write an original story. But when I write fanfics, I try to stick as close as possible to the "feel" of the show/comic/movie, even when I'm telling a new story.

On the rare occasion I DO make a dramatic change, I try to justify it, and I try to make sure that the change has an equally dramatic effect on the story and the status quo of the world.

Attached: 429.png (680x496, 293.59K)

Alot of Author's got their break writing Sherlock Holmes fan fiction.

Isn't this the general rule of thumb when writing fanfics.

Like the only reason why you'd write something that dramatically changes the characters and universe because it's either: 1 Inexperienced, or 2 Shitpost.

Also, when writing it's a fucking hassle if the show bring out new Lore, and you'd have to state in your fic that you wrote this before that episode/special.

>Isn't this the general rule of thumb when writing fanfics.