Self Taught Programmers

How are things going for you? How did you teach yourself and how did you get your first job?

Attached: R.jpg (995x799, 276.03K)

I'm still reading about C (mostly to check what I don't know yet) but otherwise I still can't find a job
I'm kinda glad that I managed to start a few anons into the habit of reading with those book threads, I'm giving it a good week before making another one

Is C the first language you are learning?

Only the bottom barrel ofthe self taughts go for a job, the actual freelancers stay free & lance around

Yeah outside of one off classes from hs, it's been pretty neat so far
I was hoping to get into kernel and OS development so I've been learning a bit about shell scripting and makefiles too but an user blackpilled me into accepting the fact that I need to use what I've learnt from C to pick up Python and C# if I want to actually get employed (embedded entry level positions don't exist for the self-taught unfortunately)
At least I've taken a class for Python and C# before so the syntax shouldn't be too bad. It's the paradigm shift that I'm bracing myself for

Where do you find good quality freelance work? Upwork is full of people looking for someone who will help them cheat some system, or scrape information on a regular basis, spam a platform... sketchy shit. And they pay very little, if you can get hired, that is.

>How did you teach yourself
Read books
>how did you get your first job?
I applied, got inteviewed, got job offer, accepted.
>Profit.

Based.

Brainlet question but how would one go about freelancing? What websites are good.

Boy. Lesson number 1- dont search for jobs, make a job.
Start developing few different projects under differenthacker names, later, combine them i to onemega project under new pseudonim, monetize it.
Soon you will have people lookingforyou for various offers

How long have you been teaching yourself before you got your first job?