C++ devs don't care about design patterns or clean code

I'm a c++ dev on a company with a couple thousand employees, we make and maintain a linux-based OS and its applications. I work for one of the applications.
I haven't seen people caring or knowing design patterns, the other day a SENIOR developer made a global pointer and called it a singleton, I was the only one who pointed out that it was absurd and people didn't seem to care. We also have a class called xxxFactory that always creates a concrete object of the same type.
Another guy who's very smart and also a senior who looks like the average Any Forums user writes code without caring much for having it clean, he'll write functions with 100~200+ LOC and doesn't give a fuck.
I don't see many c++ people in our company talking about this stuff, they're more about performance whereas Java people seem to care a lot more.

Is it just me? What's your experience?

Attached: 1616840420856.jpg (1061x720, 98.15K)

This is why Rust will win over C++

design patterns were created to allow retards to understand large codebases

I'll continue with C++ no matter what Schizo code for life

t. Junior devs. People need to get shit done, not autistically worry about gay design patterns.

>a SENIOR developer made a global pointer and called it a singleton
I don't know what the fuck a singleton is but what I do know is that guy is BASED.

Attached: 1633690433766.png (800x1165, 195.47K)

Nothing in C++ prohibits people from using patterns correctly or creating clean code, I don't see how Rust could help. Maybe the mentality of Rust developers?

We often have new people on the projects, teams split and there are people from other teams coming in, old people quit. Thousands of lines are committed in our product each day, we must have it well organized or it will descend into chaos pretty quickly.