Software engineering, and especially “web development”, are trivially easy

I have a Bachelors of Science in Mechanical Engineering, I taught myself the basics of programming in a few months and developed a few basic projects and was able to land a “software engineer” position.

Here is what I have discovered:
1. Software “engineers” are laughably stupid compared to my former engineering colleagues, probably a standard deviation or more below the MEs and EEs I worked with. They do not understand much of anything, if you do a “by age” compassion (30 yo SE vs 30 yo ME) it’s like talking to a child vs an 18th century polymath. Software engineers do not know jack shit about anything but lame consumer brand war bullshit that pertains to the latest computer hardware, their experience with “real engineering” is arduinos and 3d printers.

2. The complexity of my job is now orders of magnitude lower. I had to think about a problem from all angles back when I worked as a mechanical engineer, I would need to scrutinize every single decision from the perspective of how it was made, where it was made, how it would be transported, how it would be assembled, how it would be used, I would have to think through every conceivable failure mode and develop calculations to accurately estimate the fatigue life of the part under certain conditions, I had to think from an economic perspective about whether certain decisions made sense and at what production quantity they no longer made sense. My current job is a walk in the park and I’m light years ahead of my coworkers in terms of seeing the wider picture of our actions.