Art consistency in Comics

Why do Marvel comics change artists so much? I was reading a run that had great art, then halfway through the quality of the art dropped off a cliff. like 3 different artists came in, all of them utterly shit, and none of the characters looked even remotely recognizable.

Why does this happen?

Is it the same with DC comics? I just don't understand. I'm a noob to comics.

Attached: 1904.jpg (640x800, 670.05K)

Because they're idiots and their readers are bigger idiots.
I've been reading comics for over a decade, and it still pisses me off when the artist is replace, even if temporarily.

>tfw when the comic goes from Jorge Jimenez to Tom Raney

Attached: 1662466287858562.jpg (602x780, 135.76K)

They put their best artists on the opening storyline of a book, then move them away to the opening storyline of another book, and just put whoever else on to replace them afterwards. Unless the artist is adamant about staying on that one book, and the editor wants to keep them there, it keeps happening. And neither Marvel nor DC have a 'house style' anymore, so the look of a book can vary from one issue to the next as artists change.

They understand that a good artist is a draw, but they're terrified of creating new stars that could leave them and become their new competition like Image did in the 90s.

>They understand that a good artist is a draw, but they're terrified of creating new stars that could leave them and become their new competition like Image did in the 90s.
Just get an exclusivity contract like what they did with Dan Mora the second he went from being known for Klaus and Power Rangers to being adored by DCfags at large

Because modern 'good' artists can't draw for more than 6 issues without delaying